24 Comments

I’ve never really done the record store day thing in terms of waiting in line or looking closely at the list in advance. I’ve managed to get some interesting releases in prior years by checking out stores soon after (RSD leftovers). I’ve also started to notice that some stores that aren’t participating in the RSD releases are still holding sales and events, which is nice. Every day is record store day for me!

Expand full comment

I'm not camping out or anything, but I'd like to get a copy of Pearl Jam's "Give way" record.

Expand full comment

Happy Record Store Day!

No special plans, to be honest, although I did finally order that Easter record online because I got sick of hunting for it in stores. As I learned, Patti Smith is literally impossible to stumble upon secondhand so I'm really glad I found this private reseller.

Expand full comment

I'm going to one store today here in Austin (TX)! We've got eight stores in the Austin area participating in RSD! I'm just going to "check out the scene"---not looking to buy anything!

I discovered 55 of my "old" and first business card, touting FRONT ROW & BACKSTAGE, my 'Stack offering. For about a year now, my second iteration of the card has more text, plus a QR code on the back for easy scanning for the kids these days!

The front has always been that photo of me with The Ramones from backstage at Liberty Hall in 1977 when I was 22 (you see to your left). But, I took a silver paint pen and a gold one, and autographed each one in one of those Sharpie colors in the upper left-hand corner! I forgot I had any left!

Anyway, I thought it'd be fun to pass those out today at the record store I'm going to, and try to pass myself off as "Brad Ramone," the lost and misshapen Ramone!! I figured (when I started my Substack in early fall '21) that the photo looks like SOMEONE shoulda signed it, and as we've run out of original Ramones still living, I took it upon myself to sign it! Happy RSD, one and all!--Brad

Expand full comment

I didn’t know this was a thing! How wonderful!

Expand full comment
Apr 24, 2023Liked by Andres

This was going to be my first ever crazy-queueing-from-3-am RSD but I overslept and ended up having to pay THREE TIMES the retail price on eBay last night 😭. Next year hopefully I’ll do better! Lol

Expand full comment

I'm one of those "every day" is record store day, or at least it has the potential to be! I was in Boston for part of the weekend and would have checked out a record store either way, as that is something I love to do when traveling. Fortunately my daughter agrees and my son didn't mind either. We hit Good Taste Records in the North End, a really nice little store. I looked through the RSD exclusives but didn't see anything that grabbed me. I like the little Mike D. curated set of Brazilian singles but $42 is more than I wanted to spend. But I looked through the used LPs and found a well-loved older pressing of Led Zeppelin's debut for $8. Completed my collection! And that's a good Record Store Day to me.

Expand full comment